Happy Birthday Sue

Today is the birthday of my wife, life partner, counselor, soulmate and best friend, Sue Williams Austin. I am eternally grateful to Sue, who has supported me through all my endeavors, especially my military service. As every military spouse knows, it is not an easy life with your spouse away so much of the time leaving you with the responsibility of husband, wife, father and mother. Add to that the concern for the safety of your life partner. For her uncomplaining support through all these years and her undying love, this is for Sue.

For Sue, With Love

When I was a young man
I raised up my right hand
And said that I would go
To oppose any foe
At home or foreign land.

You came to join me,
Wherever that might be,
If they would let you do
The thing you wanted to
And come across the sea.

And you always came along
To help to keep me strong
Every time you could,
Just like you said you would,
‘Cause that’s where you belong.

And when you couldn’t come
You did your duty from
The home I left behind
So I’d come home to find
A place of joy and fun.

The times I was not there
You always did my share
Of raising family,
And all who would, could see
How much you really care.

Even though we’re now old,
We have memories to hold,
And love each other more
Than we ever did before,
For our love has not grown cold.

As I look back on life,
On joy and tears and strife,
I know I couldn’t be
If you did not love me
And you were not my wife.

So I thank you, dear,
For always being here,
Through all the good and bad,
And all the love we’ve had,
And a life of joy and cheer.

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday Sue”

  1. Alice Vasey Says:

    The endearing love you and Sue have for each other is a blessing without end. I salute both of you! And, I salute you, Sue, on your Birthday!

    You are a blessing in my life. For, I am blessed to have you as a special friend!

    Love to you both! Alice

  2. js Says:

    Lee,Please pass on Best Birthday Wishes to Sue from Judy and me.Best Regards,Jom

  3. M.B. Henry Says:

    Awwwww – a very happy birthday Sue!!! ❤

  4. Sandy Says:

    Lovely.

Leave a comment