Today is National Anthem Day

On this date in 1931 President Herbert Hoover signed a law making “The Star-Spangled Banner” the national anthem of the United States of America. We celebrate that every year as National Anthem Day. A friend of mine became a proud nationalized citizen yesterday. So many citizens by birth take our freedoms for granted. Naturalized citizens rarely do. I’m reminded of the naturalized citizens I know who deeply appreciate our liberty and those who have served in the military to protect it. That perspective inspired this short poem.

The Naturalized Citizen

There are citizens by birth,
And those who speak with patriotic voice.
Perhaps, the most intrinsic worth
Are those who are citizens by choice.

4 Responses to “Today is National Anthem Day”

  1. js Says:

    Lee,Well said as always.I try to leave comments on the site but it keeps asking for a URL and I have no idea what that is or if I have one or what it is, if I do.Regards,Jon

  2. Connie Garner Says:

    So apropos at this time. Well said!

Leave a comment